Welcome to the Certification Program in Secondary Science

wordle

The Secondary Science Teacher Certification Program is designed the prepare science content experts as professional educators, certified to teach science content in Connecticut 7-12 grades. Teacher Candidates may pursue certification as a part of their undergraduate experience, or as a post-Baccalaureate, or as a part of a Masters Degree program.

This handbook has been designed for students as a reference and a guide to navigating the various requirements and standards involved in the certification process. It includes information for both undergraduate and graduate students, so please make sure that you use the appropriate recommendations.  You will find copies of many of the forms you will need along the way. Some of these are ready for use directly from the handbook, and can be found linked to the pages included in this Handbook Web site.

Listed below are the SCSU faculty advisors involved in science certification:

CERTIFICATION COORDINATOR
Dr. Catherine Koehler
Office: Jennings Hall room 342
Phone: 392-6608
Email: KoehlerC2@southernct.edu

SCIENCE EDUCATION TEACHING FACULTY
Dr. Susan Cusato
Office: Jennings Hall room 342
Phone: 392-6610
Email: Cusatos1@southernct.edu

SCIENCE EDUCATION TEACHING FACULTY
Dr. Scott Graves
Office: Jennings Hall room 333
Phone: 392-6604
Email: Gravess1@southernct.edu

SCIENCE EDUCATION TEACHING FACULTY
Mr. Gerry Frumento
Office: Jennings Hall room 337
Phone: 392-6612
Email: Frumentog1@southernct.edu

BIOLOGY EDUCATION COORDINATOR
Dr. Clara Kim
Office: Jennings Hall room 215 B
Phone: 392-7206
Email: KimH7@southernct.edu

CHEMISTRY EDUCATION COORDINATOR
Dr. Jeffrey Webb
Office: Jennings Hall room 315
Phone: 203 392-5018
Email: WebbJ6@southernct.edu

EARTH SCIENCE EDUCATION COORDINATOR
Dr. Thomas Fleming
Office: Morrill Hall 214 A
Phone: 392-5837
Email: Flemingt1@southernct.edu

PHYSICS EDUCATION COORDINATOR
Dr. Karen Cummings
Office: Jennings Hall room 117
Phone: 392-7043
Email: Cummingsk2@southernct.edu