FACULTY and STAFF

Department of Communication Disorders personnel includes nine full-time Ph.D.-level faculty and five permanent professional staff, including a full-time clinical director and four clinical supervisors. In addition, adjunct professors from the local clinical community assist in teaching academic courses and providing clinical supervision. All faculty and professional staff are licensed by the state of Connecticut and hold American Speech-Language-Hearing Association clinical certification. A listing of full-time faculty,  professional staff, and long-term adjuncts with their respective roles and interests follows.

Faculty:

Glenda DeJarnette
 

Glenda DeJarnette, Ph.D.
DeJarnetteg1@southernct.edu

Professor 

Multicultural considerations in communication disorders, language
development and disorders, neuromotor speech control and development


James J. Dempsey 

James J. Dempsey, Ph.D.
Dempseyj1@southernct.edu

Professor
Audiology Clinic Coordinator

Amplification systems, aural rehabilitation, diagnostic audiology

 hillary harper

Hillary V. Harper, M.S.
harperh1@southernct.edu

Assistant Professor

Child language disorders, emergent language and literacy, perceptions
of disability

Kelly Mabry

Kelly Mabry, Ph.D.
mabryk1@southernct.edu

Assistant Professor
Undergraduate Advisor

Craniofacial disorders, medical genetics, voice & velopharyngeal function 

 

Jennifer McCullagh

Jennifer McCullagh, Au.D., Ph.D.
mccullaghj1@southernct.edu

Assistant Professor
Chairperson, Admissions Committee

 Central auditory processing disorders, auditory electrophysiology, diagnostic
audiology in pediatric and adult populations

Jonathan Preston

Jonathan Preston, Ph.D.
prestonj6@southernct.edu 

Assistant Professor

Phonological development and disorders, persisting speech disorders, links
between speech, language and literacy, neural/cognitive bases of communication
disorders, childhood apraxia, intervention                                                                         

Mary Purdy

Mary Purdy, Ph.D.
Purdym1@southernct.edu

Professor
Graduate Program Director
Graduate Advisor

Assessment and rehabilitation of adult neurogenic communication disorders,
swallowing disorders

Deborah Weiss

Deborah Weiss, Ph.D.
Weissd1@southernct.edu

Professor
Departmental Chairperson
 

Multilingual/multicultural curricular issues, language assessment/dynamic assessment of bilingual children, oral and written language disorders, curricular issues

 

Richard Zipoli

Richard Zipoli, Ph.D.

Zipolir1@southernct.edu

Assistant Professor


Developmental language disorders, reading disabilities, phonological and motor speech disorders, and service delivery in high-need schools

Professional Staff:

Lisa Barber

Lisa Barber, M.S.
Barberl1@southernct.edu

Clinical Supervisor, Speech-Language Pathology; Coordinator, Schools Practicum

Child language, articulation and phonology,  fluency disorders

 Jane Hindenlang

 Jane Hindenlang, M.S.
Hindenlangj1@southernct.edu

Clinical Supervisor, Speech-Language Pathology Coordinator, Adult Neurogenics Clinic

Neurogenic communication disorders, child language and phonology, augmentative and alternative communication

 Kevin McNamara

Kevin M. McNamara, M.A.
McNamarak2@southernct.edu

Clinic Director

Developmental language, articulation and phonology, diagnostic assessment, augmentative/alternative communication, developmental disabilities

Althea Marshall


Althea Marshall, M.A., M.S.
Marshalla1@southernct.edu

Clinical Supervisor, Speech-Language Pathology; Coordinator, Language-Literacy Clinic

Language-literacy, phonological
and articulation disorders, developmental disabilities

 Denise Rini


Denise Rini, M.A.
Rinid1@southernct.edu

Clinical Supervisor, Speech-Language Pathology

Fluency, child language, articulation and phonology, diagnostics  

Adjunct Faculty:

Michele Abrams

Michele Abrams, Au.D. Abramsm1@southernct.edu

Clinical Supervisor, Audiology Coordinator, Hearing Aid Dispensing Program,

Adult and pediatric diagnostic audiology, amplification systems, aural rehabilitation  

 

 

Deborah Brom

Deborah Lanza, M.S.

Clinical Supervisor, Speech-Language Pathology

Adult neurogenic communication disorders, child language, articulation, phonology

 

Mary Crean

 

Mary Crean, M.S. Creanm1@southernct.edu

Clinical Supervisor, Speech-Language Pathology; Coordinator, Off-campus Neuropathology Practicum  

Linda D'Alessio

LiDalessiol1@southernct.edunda D'Alessio, M.S., M.P.H.

Clinical Supervisor, Audiology

 

 

Sherrill Ellis

Sherrill Ellis, M.Ed. Ellish1@southernct.edu

Clinical Supervisor, Speech-Language Pathology

Child language, articulation, phonology and literacy  

Marion Leaman

Marion Leaman, M.S. marleaman@optonline.net

Clinical Supervisor, Speech-Language Pathology

Adult neurogenic communication disorders,  swallowing disorders 

Honey Sacks

Honey Sacks, M.S.
Clinical Supervisor, Speech-Language Pathology

Child language, articulation and  phonology, diagnostic assessment

Cyndi Trueheart

 

Cyndi Trueheart, Au.D.

Clinical Supervisor. Audiology

Office Personnel:

 

Patricia McMahon

Patricia McMahon, A.S. McMahonp1@southernct.edu

Secretary 2