FACULTY and STAFF

Department of Communication Disorders personnel includes nine full-time Ph.D.-level faculty and five permanent professional staff, including a full-time clinical director and four clinical supervisors. In addition, adjunct professors from the local clinical community assist in teaching academic courses and providing clinical supervision. All faculty and professional staff are licensed by the state of Connecticut and hold American Speech-Language-Hearing Association clinical certification. A listing of full-time faculty,  professional staff, and long-term adjuncts with their respective roles and interests follows.

Faculty:

 

Barbara Cook, M.S.
cookb5@southernct.edu

Assistant Professor

Language development and disorders, autism and developmental disabilities, social communication assessment and intervention, augmentative and alternative communication, and transdisciplinary collaboration for diagnosis and intervention.

Glenda DeJarnette
 

Glenda DeJarnette, Ph.D.
DeJarnetteg1@southernct.edu

Professor 

Multicultural considerations in communication disorders, language
development and disorders, neuromotor speech control and development


James J. Dempsey 

James J. Dempsey, Ph.D.
Dempseyj1@southernct.edu

Professor
Audiology Clinic Coordinator

Amplification systems, aural rehabilitation, diagnostic audiology

 hillary harper

Hillary V. Harper, M.S.
harperh1@southernct.edu

Assistant Professor

Child language disorders, emergent language and literacy, perceptions
of disability

 Kelly Mabry

Kelly Mabry, Ph.D.
mabryk1@southernct.edu

Assistant Professor
Undergraduate Advisor

Craniofacial disorders, medical genetics, voice & velopharyngeal function 

 

Jennifer McCullagh

Jennifer McCullagh, Au.D., Ph.D.
mccullaghj1@southernct.edu

Assistant Professor
Chairperson, Admissions Committee

 Central auditory processing disorders, auditory electrophysiology, diagnostic
audiology in pediatric and adult populations

Mary Purdy

Mary Purdy, Ph.D.
Purdym1@southernct.edu

Professor
Graduate Program Director
Graduate Advisor

Assessment and rehabilitation of adult neurogenic communication disorders,
swallowing disorders

 

Heather Warner, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Deborah Weiss

Deborah Weiss, Ph.D.
weissd1@southernct.edu

Professor
Departmental Chairperson

Multilingual/multicultural curricular issues, language assessment/dynamic assessment of bilingual children, oral and written language disorders, curricular issues

 

Lesley Wolk, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Richard Zipoli

Richard Zipoli, Ph.D.
zipolir1@southernct.edu

Assistant Professor

Developmental language disorders, reading disabilities, phonological and motor speech disorders, and service delivery in high-need schools

 Professional Staff:

 Lisa Barber

 Lisa Barber, M.S.
barberl1@southernct.edu

Clinical Instructor, Speech-Language Pathology

 Jane Hindenlang

Jane Hindenlang, M.S.
Hindenlangj1@southernct.edu

Clinical Instructor, Speech-Language Pathology Coordinator, Adult Neurogenics Clinic

Neurogenic communication disorders, child language and phonology, augmentative and alternative communication

 Kevin McNamara

Kevin M. McNamara, M.A.
McNamarak2@southernct.edu

Clinic Director

Developmental language, articulation and phonology, diagnostic assessment, augmentative/alternative communication, developmental disabilities

Althea Marshall

Althea Marshall, M.A., M.S.
Marshalla1@southernct.edu

Clinical Instructor, Speech-Language Pathology; Coordinator, Language-Literacy Clinic

Language-literacy, phonological
and articulation disorders, developmental disabilities

 Denise Rini


Denise Rini, M.A.
Rinid1@southernct.edu

Clinical Instructor, Speech-Language Pathology

Fluency, child language, articulation and phonology, diagnostics  

Adjunct Faculty:

Michele Abrams

Michele Abrams, Au.D. Abramsm1@southernct.edu

Clinical Instructor, Audiology Coordinator, Hearing Aid Dispensing Program,

Adult and pediatric diagnostic audiology, amplification systems, aural rehabilitation  

 Joan Black

Joan Black, M.S.
blackj2@southernct.edu

Clinical Instructor, Speech-Language Pathology

Child and Adolescent Language, Phonology

 

Mary Crean

 

Mary Crean, M.S. Creanm1@southernct.edu

Clinical Instructor, Speech-Language Pathology; Coordinator, Off-campus Neuropathology Practicum  

Linda D'Alessio

Linda D'Alessio, M.S., M.P.H
Dalessiol1@southernct.edu

Clinical Instructor, Audiology

 

 

Sherrill Ellis

Sherrill Ellis, M.Ed. Ellish1@southernct.edu

Clinical Instructor, Speech-Language Pathology

Child language, articulation, phonology and literacy  

Deb Lanza

Deborah Lanza, M.S.
bromd1@southernct.edu

Clinical Instructor, Speech-Language Pathology

Adult neurogenic communication disorders, child language, articulation, phonology

Marion Leaman

Marion Leaman, M.S. marleaman@optonline.net

Clinical Instructor, Speech-Language Pathology

Adult neurogenic communication disorders,  swallowing disorders 

 R Merriman

Ronda Gaita Merriman, M.S.
gaitamerrir1@southernct.edu

Clinical Instructor, Speech-Language Pathology

Child and Adolescent Language, Language/literacy, Phonology

 Sarah Moon

Sarah Moon, M.S.
moons2@southernct.edu

Clinical Instructor, Speech-Language Pathology

Co-Coordinator, Off-Campus School-Based Practicum

 Chamonix Sikora

Chamonix Sikora, M.S., BCS-F
sikorac1@southernct.edu

Clinical Instructor, Speech-Language Pathology

Fluency

Cyndi Trueheart

 

Cyndi Trueheart, Au.D.

Clinical Instructor,  Audiology

 Meghan Weinberger

Meghan Weinberger, M.S.
weinbergerm1@southernct.edu

Clinical Instructor, Speech-Language Pathology

Child and Adolescent Language, Phonology, Accent Reduction

Office Personnel:

 

Patricia McMahon

Patricia McMahon, A.S. McMahonp1@southernct.edu

Secretary 2