Main Content

FACULTY and STAFF

Department of Communication Disorders personnel includes nine full-time Ph.D.-level faculty and five permanent professional staff, including a full-time clinical director and four clinical supervisors. In addition, adjunct professors from the local clinical community assist in teaching academic courses and providing clinical supervision. All faculty and professional staff are licensed by the state of Connecticut and hold American Speech-Language-Hearing Association clinical certification. A listing of full-time faculty,  professional staff, and long-term adjuncts with their respective roles and interests follows.

Faculty

 Barbara Cook 2016

Barbara Cook, Ed.D.
cookb5@southernct.edu

Assistant Professor

Language development and disorders, autism and developmental disabilities, social communication assessment and intervention, augmentative and alternative communication, and transdisciplinary collaboration for diagnosis and intervention.

Glenda DeJarnette 2016

 

Glenda DeJarnette, Ph.D.
Dejarnetteg1@southernct.edu

Professor

Multicultural considerations in communication disorders, language 
development and disorders, neuromotor speech control and development

James Dempsey

 

James J. Dempsey, Ph.D.
Dempseyj1@southernct.edu

Professor
Audiology Clinic Coordinator

Amplification systems, aural rehabilitation, diagnostic audiology

 Hillary Harper

Hillary V. Harper, Ph.D.
harperh1@southernct.edu

Assistant Professor
Curriculum Vitae

Child language disorders, emergent language and literacy, perceptions
of disability

 Kelly Mabry

Kelly Mabry, Ph.D.
mabryk1@southernct.edu

Associate Professor
Undergraduate Advisor

Craniofacial disorders, medical genetics, voice & velopharyngeal function 

 Jennifer McCullagh

Jennifer McCullagh, Au.D., Ph.D.
mccullaghj1@southernct.edu

Associate Professor
Chairperson, Admissions Committee
Curriculum Vitae

Central auditory processing disorders, auditory electrophysiology, diagnostic audiology in pediatric and adult populations 

Mary Purdy 2016

Mary Purdy, Ph.D.
Purdym1@southernct.edu

Professor
Graduate Program Director
Graduate Advisor
Curriculum Vitae

Assessment and rehabilitation of adult neurogenic communication disorders,
swallowing disorders

 Sujini Ramachandar 2016

Sujini Ramachandar, M.S.
ramachandas1@southernct.edu

Assistant Professor

Fluency disorders, Neural underpinnings of speech perception and production,
Senorimotor Integration of speech production, Telepractice

 Heather Warner

Heather Warner, Ph.D.
warnerh2@southernct.edu

Assistant Professor
Curriculum Vitae

Adult neurogenic disorders, swallowing disorders, medical speech-language pathology, trans-disciplinary rehabilitation

Deborah Weiss 2016

Deborah Weiss, Ph.D.
weissd1@southernct.edu

Professor
Departmental Chairperson

Multilingual/multicultural curricular issues, language assessment/dynamic assessment of bilingual children, oral and written language disorders, curricular issues

Richard Zipoli

Richard Zipoli, Ph.D.
zipolir1@southernct.edu

Assistant Professor
Curriculum Vitae

Developmental language disorders, reading disabilities, phonological and motor speech disorders, and service delivery in high-need schools

 Professional Staff

Michele Abrams 2016

Michele Abrams, Au.D.
abramsm1@southernct.edu

Clinical Instructor, Audiology, Coordinator Hearing Aid Dispensing Program

Adult and pediatric diagnostic audiology, amplification systems, aural rehabiliaton

 Lisa Barber 2016

Lisa Barber, M.S.
barberl1@southernct.edu

Clinical Instructor, Speech-Language Pathology, Fluency, Child Language, Phonological Disorders

 

 Mary Crean 2016

Mary Crean, M.S.
creanm1@southernct.edu

Clinical Instructor, Speech-Language Pathology

Neurogenic Communication Disorders, Voice, School-Aged Language

 

 Jane Hindenlang

Jane Hindenlang, M.S.
Hindenlangj1@southernct.edu

Clinical Instructor, Speech-Language Pathology Coordinator, Adult Neurogenics Clinic

Neurogenic communication disorders, child language and phonology, augmentative and alternative communication

Kevin McNamara 2016
 

Kevin M. McNamara, M.A.
McNamarak2@southernct.edu

Clinic Director
Curriculum Vitae

Developmental language, articulation and phonology, diagnostic assessment, , developmental disabilities

 Denise Rini


Denise Rini, M.A.
Rinid1@southernct.edu

Clinical Instructor, Speech-Language Pathology

Fluency, child language, articulation and phonology, diagnostics

Adjunct Faculty

 Joan Black

 Joan Black, M.S.
blackj2@southernct.edu

Clinical Instructor, Speech-Language Pathology

Child and Adolescent Language, Phonology

 

 Shawneen Buckley 2016

Shawneen Buckley, M.S.
buckleys7@owls.southernct.edu

Clinical Instructor, Speech-Language Pathology

Coordinator, Off-Campus Medical-Based Practicum

Sherrill Ellis

Sherrill Ellis, M.Ed.
Ellish1@southernct.edu

Clinical Instructor, Speech-Language Pathology

Child language, articulation, phonology and literacy  

 Deborah Lanza

Deborah Lanza, M.S.
bromd1@southernct.edu

Clinical Instructor, Speech-Language Pathology

Adult neurogenic communication disorders, child language, articulation, phonology

Marion Leaman

Marion Leaman, M.S.
marleaman@optonline.net

Clinical Instructor, Speech-Language Pathology

Adult neurogenic communication disorders,  swallowing disorders 

 Ronda Merriman

Ronda Gaita Merriman, M.S.
gaitamerrir1@southernct.edu

Clinical Instructor, Speech-Language Pathology

Child and Adolescent Language, Language/literacy, Phonology

 Sarah Moon

Sarah Moon, M.S.
moons2@southernct.edu

Clinical Instructor, Speech-Language Pathology

Co-Coordinator, Off-Campus School-Based Practicum

 Debra Sokol

Debora Sokol, 6th. Year
sokold1@southernct.edu

Clinical Instructor, Speech-Language Pathology

Early Child Language, Articulation

 Meghan Weinberger

Meghan Weinberger, M.S.
weinbergerm1@southernct.edu

Clinical Instructor, Speech-Language Pathology

Child and Adolescent Language, Phonology, Accent Reduction

Office Personnel

 

Patricia McMahon 2016

Patricia McMahon, A.S.
McMahonp1@southernct.edu

Secretary 2

 

 Glenda DeJarnette 2016