Main Content

Mary and Louis Fusco Distinguished Lecture Series

The Mary and Louis Fusco Distinguished Lecture Series is a major intellectual event in the greater New Haven area, each year bringing a political, social, or creative leader to campus.

The lectures present the Southern community and the community at large with rare opportunities to hear a variety of viewpoints on topics that influence their lives and profoundly affect their futures.

The series also involves the community by offering businesses and individuals an opportunity to become sponsors at various levels of financial support. Proceeds from the event provide scholarship support for Southern students through the Endowed Awards of Excellence, a merit-based scholarship program that  attracts and recognizes academically talented students.

Distinguished Lecturers in the Series

2018 Joe BidenJoe Biden
Former Vice President
2017 Kareem Abdul-JabbarKareem Abdul-Jabbar
NBA Legend, Social Justice Advocate, Cancer Survivor
2016 Robin Robertsrobin roberts
Co-Anchor, ABC News' Good Morning America
2015 Mariano Riverajoe torre and mariano rivera 
Joe Torre
New York Yankees Legends
2014 Jay Lenojay leno
Former Host of The Tonight Show
2013 Alan Aldaalan alda
Actor, Science Advocate
2012 Mark Kellymark kelly
2011 Michael J. Foxmichael j fox
Actor and Author
2010 Apolo Ohnoapolo ohno
Olympic Speed-Skating Champion
2009 Peter Gammonsbrian cashman and peter gammons
ESPN Commentator

Brian Cashman
New York Yankees General Manager
2008 Tim Russerttim russert
Political Journalist and Analyst
2007 Whoopi Goldbergwhoopi goldberg
Actor, Comic, Humanitarian
2006 Bill Belichickbill belichick
Head Coach, New England Patriots
2005 Madeleine Albrightmadeleine albright
Former U.S. Secretary of State
2004 Mario Cuomomario cuomo
Former Governor, New York
2003 Rudolph Giulianirudolph giuliani
Former Mayor, New York City
2002 Ehud Barakehud barak
Former Prime Minister of Israel
2001 Dana and Christopher Reevechristopher and dana reeve
Actors, Disability Rights Activists
2000 Walter Cronkitewalter cronkite
Former Broadcast Journalist
1999 Colin Powellcolin powell
Former U.S. Secretary of State