Main Content

Title IX: Equality in Action



8:00 A.M. - 8:00 P.M.

Conference includes lunch and dinner

No person in the United States shall, on the basis of sex, be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any education program or activity receiving federal financial assistance.

For more information or to attend, please call the Women's Studies Office at 203-392-7050.


U.S. Rep. Rosa DeLauro, Third District, State of Connecticut
Dr. Donna Lopiano, president and founder, Sports Management Resources
Lt. Gov. Nancy Wyman, State of Connecticut


Susan Burhans - public safety expert and journalist

Ann Meyers Drysdale - vice president of the Phoenix Suns & Mercury, Olympic silver medalist, national collegiate champion, and broadcaster (keynote speaker)

Sally Jenkins - award-winning author, sports columnist and feature writer, The Washington Post

Dr. Donna Lopiano - president and founder, Sports Management Resources

Marilyn "Lynn" Malerba - chief, Mohegan Tribal Nation

Wendy Murphy - attorney, founder and director of Victim Advocacy & Research Group

Chase Olivarius-McAllister - feminist and reporter, The Durango (CO) Herald

Louise O'Neal - women's coaching pioneer, retired teacher and athletic administrator

Laura Pappano - Award-Winning Journalist, Author and Blogger

Meghan Pattyson Culmo - UCONN national collegiate champion, basketball analyst/broadcaster

Belinda "Boe" Pearman - SCSU Associate Director of Athletics, Former Basketball Coach and Player

Dr. Troy Rondinone - SCSU professor and author

Dr. Debra Rolison - physical chemist

Carolyn Vanacore - director emeritus of Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Safety, SCSU

Susan Ware - noted author and historian

Teresa Younger - executive director, Permanent Commission on the Status of Women


James Barber, Director of Community Engagement, Southern Connecticut State University
Dr. Yi-Chun Tricia Lin, Chair, Women's Studies Program, Southern Connecticut State University
Patricia Nicol, Director of Athletics, Southern Connecticut State University

Title IX Conference Committee:

Dr. Rosalyn Amenta, Director of Women's Programs/Assistant to the Dean of Student Affairs
Dr. Christine Broadbridge, Chair, Department of Physics
Madison Breuer, Undergraduate Student, Public Health (major)/Women's Studies (minor)
Mary Pat Caputo, Director of Marketing and Publications, Office of Public Affairs
Dawn Cathey, First Year Experience Instructor/Office of the Dean of Student Affairs
Caroline Chamberlain, Administrative Assistant, Women's Studies Program
Catherine Christy, Coordinator, Women's Center
Dr. Maria Diamantis, Professor, Mathematics
Patrick Dilger, Director, Office of Public Affairs
Dr. Ellen Durnin, Dean, School of Business
Dr. Annette Madlock Gatison, Associate Professor of Communication
Nicole Henderson, Director, First Year Experience/Associate Professor of English
Dr. Heidi Lockwood, Associate Professor of Philosophy
Ebony McClease, WMS MA, '12, and Political Science MA Candidate '14, LGBT Counselor Advocate, Women and Family Center, New Haven
Belinda Pearman, Associate Athletic Director/Compliance
Amanda Proscino,  Undergraduate Student, Public Health (major)/Women's Studies (minor)
Kaia Monroe Rarick,  Associate Professor of Theatre
John Rochette, Major Gifts Officer, Office of Institutional Advancement
Dr. Troy Rondinone, Professor of History
Dawn Stanton-Holmes, Assistant Director, University Access Program
Carolyn Vanacore, Director Emeritus of Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Safety