Mary and Louis Fusco DISTINGUISHED LECTURE Series

The Mary and Louis Fusco Distinguished Lecture Series is a major intellectual event in the greater New Haven area, each year bringing a political, social, or creative leader to campus.

The lectures present the Southern community and the community at large with rare opportunities to hear a variety of viewpoints on topics that influence their lives and profoundly affect their futures.

The series also involves the community by offering businesses and individuals an opportunity to become sponsors at various levels of financial support. Proceeds from the event provide scholarship support for Southern students through the Endowed Awards of Excellence, a new merit-based scholarship program that will attract and recognize academically talented students.

Distinguished Lecturers in the Series

2016 Robin Roberts
Co-Anchor, ABC News' Good Morning America
2015 Mariano Rivera 
Joe Torre
New York Yankees Legends
2014 Jay Leno
Former Host of “The Tonight Show”
2013 Alan Alda
Actor, Science Advocate
2012 Mark Kelly
2011 Michael J. Fox
Actor and Author
2010 Apolo Ohno
Olympic Speed Skating Champion
2009 Peter Gammons
ESPN Commentator

Brian Cashman
Yankees GM
2008 Tim Russert
Political Journalist and Analyst
2007 Whoopi Goldberg
Actor, Comic, Humanitarian
2006 Bill Belichick
Head Coach, New England Patriots
2005 Madeleine Albright
Former Secretary of State
2004 Mario Cuomo
Former Governor, New York
2003 Rudolph Giuliani
Former Mayor, New York City
2002 Ehud Barak
Former Prime Minister of Israel
2001 Dana and Christopher Reeve
Actors, Disability Rights Activists
2000 Walter Cronkite
Former Broadcast Journalist
1999 Colin Powell
Former Secretary of State