Main Content

FACULTY and STAFF


Department of Communication Disorders personnel includes nine full-time Ph.D.-level faculty and five permanent professional staff, including a full-time clinical director and four clinical supervisors. In addition, adjunct professors from the local clinical community assist in teaching academic courses and providing clinical supervision. All faculty and professional staff are licensed by the state of Connecticut and hold American Speech-Language-Hearing Association clinical certification. A listing of full-time faculty,  professional staff, and long-term adjuncts with their respective roles and interests follows.

Faculty

 Barbara Cook 2016

Barbara Cook, Ed.D.
203-392-7119
cookb5@southernct.edu

Assistant Professor
Curriculum Vitae

Language development and disorders, autism and developmental disabilities, social communication assessment and intervention, augmentative and alternative communication, and transdisciplinary collaboration for diagnosis and intervention.

Glenda DeJarnette 2016

 

Glenda DeJarnette, Ph.D.
203-392-5965
Dejarnetteg1@southernct.edu

Professor
Curriculum Vitae

Multicultural considerations in communication disorders, language 
development and disorders, neuromotor speech control and development

James Dempsey

 

James J. Dempsey, Ph.D.
203-392-5962
Dempseyj1@southernct.edu

Professor
Audiology Clinic Coordinator
Curriculum Vitae

Amplification systems, aural rehabilitation, diagnostic audiology

 Hillary Harper

Hillary V. Harper, Ph.D.
203-392-5982
harperh1@southernct.edu

Assistant Professor
Curriculum Vitae

Child language disorders, emergent language and literacy, perceptions
of disability

 Kelly Mabry

Kelly Mabry, Ph.D.
203-392-5986
mabryk1@southernct.edu

Associate Professor
Undergraduate Advisor
Curriculum Vitae

Craniofacial disorders, medical genetics, voice & velopharyngeal function 

 Jennifer McCullagh

Jennifer McCullagh, Au.D., Ph.D.
203-392-5961
mccullaghj1@southernct.edu

Associate Professor
Chairperson, Admissions Committee
Curriculum Vitae


Central auditory processing disorders, auditory electrophysiology, diagnostic audiology in pediatric and adult populations 

Mary Purdy 2016

Mary Purdy, Ph.D.
203-392-5959
Purdym1@southernct.edu

Professor
Graduate Program Coordinator
Graduate Advisor
Curriculum Vitae

Assessment and rehabilitation of adult neurogenic communication disorders,
swallowing disorders

 Sujini Ramachandar 2016

Sujini Ramachandar, Ph.D.
203-392-6525
ramachandas1@southernct.edu

Assistant Professor
Curriculum Vitae

Fluency disorders, Neural underpinnings of speech perception and production,
Senorimotor Integration of speech production, Telepractice

 Heather Warner

Heather Warner, Ph.D.
203-392-6339
warnerh2@southernct.edu

Assistant Professor
Curriculum Vitae

Adult neurogenic disorders, swallowing disorders, medical speech-language pathology, trans-disciplinary rehabilitation

Deborah Weiss 2016

Deborah Weiss, Ph.D.
203-392-6615
weissd1@southernct.edu

Professor
Departmental Chairperson
Curriculum Vitae

Multilingual/multicultural curricular issues, language assessment/dynamic assessment of bilingual children, oral and written language disorders, curricular issues

Richard Zipoli

Richard Zipoli, Ph.D.
203-392-5135
zipolir1@southernct.edu

Assistant Professor
Curriculum Vitae

Developmental language disorders, reading disabilities, phonological and motor speech disorders, and service delivery in high-need schools

 Professional Staff

Michele Abrams 2016

Michele Abrams, Au.D.
203-392-5967
abramsm1@southernct.edu

Clinical Instructor, Audiology; Coordinator, Southern Connecticut Audiology Services
Curriculum Vitae

Adult and pediatric diagnostic audiology, amplification systems, aural rehabiliaton

 Lisa Barber 2016

Lisa Barber, M.S.
203-392-5963
barberl1@southernct.edu

Clinical Instructor, Speech-Language Pathology
Curriculum Vitae

Fluency, Child Language, Phonological Disorders

Joan Black

Joan Black, M.S.
203-392-5307
blackj2@southernct.edu

Clinical Instructor, Speech-Language Pathology
Curriculum Vitae

Child and Adolescent Language, Phonology

Shawneen Buckley

Shawneen Buckley, M.S.
203-392-5955
buckleys7@southernct.edu

Clinical Instructor, Speech-Language Pathology
Curriculum Vitae

Advanced Clinical Practicum Coordinator

 Mary Crean 2016

Mary Crean, M.S.
203-392-5973
creanm1@southernct.edu

Clinical Instructor, Speech-Language Pathology
Curriculum Vitae

Neurogenic Communication Disorders, Voice, School-Aged Language

 Jane Hindenlang

Jane Hindenlang, M.S.
203-392-5957
Hindenlangj1@southernct.edu

Clinical Instructor, Speech-Language Pathology; Coordinator, Access Network
Curriculum Vitae

Neurogenic communication disorders, child language and phonology, augmentative and alternative communication

Kevin McNamara 2016
 

Kevin M. McNamara, M.A.
203-392-5982
McNamarak2@southernct.edu

Clinical Director
Curriculum Vitae

Developmental language, articulation and phonology, diagnostic assessment, , developmental disabilities

 Denise Rini

Denise Rini, M.A.
Rinid1@southernct.edu

Clinical Instructor, Emerita
Speech-Language Pathology

Adjunct Faculty

 Sara Burnham

Sara Burnham, M.A.
203-392-5955
burnhams1@southernct.edu

Clinical Instructor, Speech-Language Pathology
Curriculum Vitae

Dysphagia, Augmentative and Alternative Communication, Developmental Disabilities

Sherrill Ellis

Sherrill Ellis, M.Ed.
203-392-5955
Ellish1@southernct.edu

Clinical Instructor, Speech-Language Pathology
Curriculum Vitae

Child language, articulation, phonology and literacy  

 Deborah Lanza

Deborah Lanza, M.S.
203-392-5955
bromd1@southernct.edu

Clinical Instructor, Speech-Language Pathology
Curriculum Vitae

Adult neurogenic communication disorders, child language, articulation, phonology

 Ronda Merriman

Ronda Gaita Merriman, M.S.
203-392-5955
gaitamerrir1@southernct.edu

Clinical Instructor, Speech-Language Pathology
Curriculum Vitae

Child and Adolescent Language, Language/literacy, Phonology

 Fran Prezant

Fran Pollock Prezant, M.Ed.
203-392-5955
prezantf1@southernct.edu

Instructor, Speech-Language Pathology
Curriculum Vitae

Phonology

Office Personnel

 

Patricia McMahon 2016

Patricia McMahon, A.S.
203-392-5954
McMahonp1@southernct.edu

Secretary 2